Yarnold elected to BOA Athletes' Commission

Yarnold elected to BOA Athletes' Commission

GB Skeleton’s Lizzy Yarnold has been elected on to the British Olympic Association’s (BOA) Athletes’ Commission.

Yarnold is one of six athletes to have been appointed onto the panel following a vote from more than 800 eligible Olympians and potential Olympians.

A total of 18 athletes stood for the six positions, with Yarnold joined by fellow commission newcomers Adam Gemili (Athletics), James Rodwell (Rugby Sevens), Joanna Rowsell Shand (Cycling) and Lizzie Simmonds (Swimming) and Katherine Grainger (Rowing) securing re-election.

“I’m really grateful to those Olympic athletes who voted me on to the Athletes’ Commission,” said Yarnold.

“I’m really excited about joining - the preparation for an Olympic Games is so important and I hope I can bring a useful insight as a recent Olympian. There are lots of other issues too, such as anti-doping and athlete well-being that I feel passionately about, and I’m looking forward to being a part of such an important athlete group as we approach Pyeongchang 2018 and Tokyo 2020.”

The Athletes’ Commission is made up of 14 members, including Chair Ben Hawes and the IOC Athletes’ Commission representative and former GB Skeleton slider, Adam Pengilly.

The Commission, which was created in 2010 to bring the perspective and expertise of Olympic athletes to the many initiatives and programmes operated by the BOA, ensures that the athlete is at the heart of everything the organisation does.

“The elections have been a great success with a record number of athletes voting on who they want to represent them on the Athletes’ Commission,” said Hawes.

“I’d like to extend a warm welcome to the new members and also a return for Katherine, who will continue to be a valuable asset to the group.

“Having a broad range of sports, experiences and viewpoints is hugely important in helping deliver for the athlete community and we now look forward to contributing to the success of Team GB at PyeongChang 2018, Tokyo 2020 and beyond.

“A huge thank you also goes to those athletes who will depart the Commission at the end of the year. Their enthusiasm and passion for Team GB and Olympic sport has been invaluable over the past four years and their contribution to our efforts is greatly appreciated.”

BOA’s Athletes’ Commission 2017-2020:

Chair: Ben Hawes (Hockey)
IOC Athletes’ Commission: Adam Pengilly (Skeleton)
Eric Boateng (Basketball)
Jon Eley (Short Track Speed Skating)
Adam Gemili (Athletics)
Sarah Gosling (Sailing)
Katherine Grainger (Rowing)
Claire Hamilton (Curling)
Nathan Robertson (Badminton)
James Rodwell (Rugby Sevens)
Joanna Rowsell Shand (Cycling)
Goldie Sayers (Athletics)
Lizzie Simmonds (Swimming)
Lizzy Yarnold (Skeleton)