Ferriani re-elected IBSF President

Ferriani re-elected IBSF President

Ivo Ferriani has been re-elected as the President of the International Bobsleigh & Skeleton Federation (IBSF).

The Italian, who has served two four-year terms in office, was voted in ahead of Switzerland’s Fritz Burkard at this week’s annual IBSF Congress in Rome.

Ferriani received 38 of the 43 votes, with Burkard, a member of the IBSF Para-Sport-Committee and Vice-President of the St. Moritz Bobsleigh Club, his only opponent.

"I feel very honoured and just want to say thank you to all delegates that have given me the chance to serve you for another four years", said Ferriani.

“Now it’s time to go to work, continue projects, pursue new ideas and meet the challenges that lay ahead of us to make our sport even better.

“Do not hesitate to raise your hand and tell us your needs as this federation is your federation. I look forward to sliding into the future with you!"


The IBSF Congress and elections took place in Italy this week

British Bobsleigh & Skeleton Association Board Member Stephen Roland-Jones was voted on to the IBSF Appeals Tribunal.

Former British Skeleton athlete Adam Pengilly withdrew his candidacy for re-election as Vice President for International Affairs prior to voting, with Stefaan Freeling of Belgium elected in his place.

American Darrin Steele was re-elected Vice President for Sport, while Andreas Trautvetter of Germany will serve another four-year term as Vice President for Corporate and Financial Affairs.

Przemyslaw Piesiewicz of Poland is the new Vice President of Communication, with David Tomatis of Monaco retaining his position as Vice President of Marketing and Events and Latvia's Martins Dambergs securing the Vice President of Legal Affairs position.


Christopher Rodrigues led the British delegation (pics by Viesturs Lācis) 

The IBSF Vice Presidents for 2018-2022

Vice President Financial & Corporate Affairs: Andreas Trautvetter, GER
Vice President Sport: Darrin Steele, USA
Vice President Marketing & Events: David Tomatis, MON
Vice President International Affairs: Stefaan Freeling, BEL
Vice President Communication: Przemyslaw Piesiewicz, POL
Vice President Legal Affairs: Martins Dambergs, LAT

The IBSF Appeals Tribunal was approved as follows:

Ben Heijmeier (NED), Stephen A.Hess (USA), Sander Kevelaerts (BEL), Stephen Rowland-Jones (GBR)

Additionally, the Auditors were elected for a two-year term:

Anders Huuse (NOR), Luis Vazquez (PUR), Gertjan Kempers (NED).