Development Coach

Dean Ward joined the British Bobsleigh set up as Development Coach ahead of the 2020/21 season.

He will work with the next generation of bobsleigh athletes as they look to mirror his own success as an athlete.

Dean won Olympic bronze in Nagano in 1998 - Great Britain’s first bobsleigh medal since Tony Nash and Robin Dixon took the Olympic title in Igls some 34 years earlier and Team GB’s only medal of the Games.

That success alongside Sean Olsson, Courtney Rumbolt and Paul Attwood made Ward just one of 14 Brits to have won an Olympic bobsleigh medal, with John Jackson, Stu Benson, Bruce Tasker and Joel Fearon having joined them since.

Olympic bronze in Japan was not an isolated success for Dean either, as he and his crew twice made the World Cup podium during the 1997/98 season. They consistently placed in the top two in the world for their push start and were rarely outside of the top six on route to Nagano.

And success wasn’t just limited to that one season, either: Dean previously won overall World Cup silver with Rumbolt, Mark Tout and Lenny Paul in 1994/95 - a season that also saw them win European Championship silver in Altenberg.

Dean began his bobsleigh career in 1991 during his time in the Parachute Regiment and he remained a prominent figure on the World Cup circuit for almost a decade. He first represented Team GB at the 1994 Olympic Winter Games in Lillehammer, where he finished eighth alongside Olsson, John Herbert and Paul Field, and he made his third and final Olympic appearance in Salt Lake City in 2002 with Neil Scarisbrick, Scott Rider & Phillip Goedluck.

On retirement from international competition in 2002, Dean joined the British coaching staff, specialising in the push start. He coached both the men's and the women’s teams, gaining success with Nicola Minichello and Jackie Davies when the pair won a silver medal at the 2005 World Championships in Calgary.

Dean went on to manage teams on both the Europa Cup and World Cup circuit and also worked with the Dutch team prior to the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver.